A Mod for Moo2

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

Prrsha #1 Posted 04 May 2016 - 04:00 AM

Commander

• Players

I've been a vet to Moo1 and 2 for so many years however I found moo2 lacking gameplay balance wise when it came to the AI.  The AI would never research the technology that would suit their race's benefits and after many years of mismatched combat scenarios, I developed a mod that restricted technology research based on race.  Sure you can trade or even steal the technology you can't research later but this goes more along the vein of Moo1 where each race had certain rating of tech savvy.  For example: to compensate Silicoid's expansion rate in moo1, silicoids had a poor rating in every category of tech except for Computers.  Sakkra excelled at Planetology and Mrrshan at weaponry.  In moo1 this effected the number or techs you could research for a given race.  With the mod I made with the editor CoOrion, I made a very similar scenario and I do enjoy the balance of Moo2 more.  Since Moo2 is getting released again in the collector's bundle, I thought I would offer to post it here again, if people wish.

Here is a run down of the tech tree.  It is pretty lengthy.  The one exception is that Psilons get access to any tech, however they don't get access to ALL 3 at once in a category (like how creative used to work).  In this version you are free to pick any tech but you only get to pick one out of the 3 in each category.  Uncreative races like Klackon get their tech randomly chosen for them from the chart based on what they can research.

The mod list is below and is in rtf Wordpad format: http://www.mediafire.com/download/d5t7mxovcgkf5az/Moo2Mod.rtf

If you enjoy what you see and wish to try it I'll see about getting a larger host to host the entire patch files.