Jump to content


brand new (unofficial) 1.50.1 fan patch for Master of Orion II

Master of Orion II

  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

mikeva1 #1 Posted 09 May 2016 - 08:53 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 76
  • Member since:
    08-08-2015
moo2mod.com has the details. I am going to give it a try and see how it does.

M002mod #2 Posted 20 July 2016 - 02:38 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 241
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

Video about MOO2's ship initiative rule and 1.50 fan patch's balanced ship initiative mechanic;

 



Archont4000 #3 Posted 28 July 2016 - 12:37 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 76
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
Thanks! Will use it while waiting for improvements on MoO4

M002mod #4 Posted 31 July 2016 - 12:12 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 241
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

Something to try at home; a funky MOO2 map with three (3!) star systems.

Download link for this map is provided in the youtube description.

Enjoy!

 


Edited by M002mod, 31 July 2016 - 12:12 AM.


Archont4000 #5 Posted 02 August 2016 - 10:52 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 76
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
Is there any mod required for this scenario?
1.50 vanilla just crashes when I try to load save.

M002mod #6 Posted 02 August 2016 - 11:55 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 241
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

View PostArchont4000, on 02 August 2016 - 10:52 AM, said:

Is there any mod required for this scenario?
1.50 vanilla just crashes when I try to load save.

 

apology, the map was created in the yet unreleased 1.50.4 patch, causing the crash.

i have uploaded a fixed version of the map just yesterday, that works on all versions, 1.31 or higher.

enjoy this little puzzle!



plasmacannontime #7 Posted 14 August 2016 - 09:51 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 101
  • Member since:
    01-13-2016

I downloaded the 1.50 also.

It works fine for me.

I downloaded the ICE mod as well.

It has enough changes that it's almost like a whole new game.

Different pick amounts, which causes changes for the main races and different tech tree locations for some of the techs creating some difficult choices.

I'd definitely recommend it for anyone feeling nostalgic for some MOO2.

 

It's 2016 and there is a new patch correcting some of the bugs.

It tells you just how many fans there are that won't give up on the MOO2 style of play. :)


MOO1 Fan, MOO2 Fan, MOO3 needed too many changes = hopeless, MOO4 trending downward, getting older waiting for a MOO5 (a modern version of mostly MOO2).

M002mod #8 Posted 22 September 2016 - 12:55 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 241
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

 

Changelog  1.50.4
===============

Spoiler

 


Edited by M002mod, 24 September 2016 - 08:45 PM.


M002mod #9 Posted 22 September 2016 - 01:02 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 241
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

http://moo2mod.com/patch/MANUAL_150.PDF


Edited by M002mod, 24 September 2016 - 08:45 PM.


JeanBaptisteEmanuelZorg #10 Posted 04 October 2016 - 11:01 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 470
  • Member since:
    09-08-2015
I didn't even know there is a "ship initiative" option. MOO2 is a great game. such a pity there is no good remake.

"Nice pictures, nice UI, balance and a good AI" © "This is no mine, it's a tomb!"

Poll from Zorg : Combat is the Core for MOO Universe 4x Strategy

Poll from Zorg : No LOOT in MOO/CtS


M002mod #11 Posted 01 November 2016 - 12:26 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 241
  • Member since:
    11-02-2015

It's been 20 years since release of the great MOO2 and there is a special fan patch to celebrate!

- Restoring German, French, Spanish & Italian language support.

- Adds a beatiful little mod in the pack "Vanilla+" (English only, this one).

- The map 'ice-cold' is back, and now standard part of the patch-pack.

- Further expanding modding options.

- And fixing yet another bucket of bugs ofc...

 


Edited by M002mod, 01 November 2016 - 12:34 AM.


Archont4000 #12 Posted 03 November 2016 - 06:33 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 76
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
Awesome! Thank you!
Since this game is so old it makes it possible to play on a win tablet without any problems :)

voidstalker_woe #13 Posted 07 November 2016 - 08:27 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 305
  • Member since:
    12-20-2015

This is going to sound really, really, really dumb, but I have never (gasp) played the dos version of the game!  How do I play it on a win XP/sp3 computer?

 


Further more, I believe that we must start building a better MoO5 now, for only by doing so can we get tomorrow's game, today!

Spud_Dastardly #14 Posted 07 November 2016 - 09:30 AM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 608
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016

View Postvoidstalker_woe, on 07 November 2016 - 04:27 PM, said:

This is going to sound really, really, really dumb, but I have never (gasp) played the dos version of the game!  How do I play it on a win XP/sp3 computer?

 

 

You'd need to use DosBox.  Rather than going through the pain of setting that up, you might consider just buying the GoG version for $4 which has dosbox already set up.  Then you can install the patch easily.  If you have the collector's edition of Moo4 then you already have access to the dos version of Moo2 through steam or gog.

Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


voidstalker_woe #15 Posted 07 November 2016 - 10:47 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 305
  • Member since:
    12-20-2015

View PostSpud_Dastardly, on 07 November 2016 - 05:30 AM, said:

 

You'd need to use DosBox.  Rather than going through the pain of setting that up, you might consider just buying the GoG version for $4 which has dosbox already set up.  Then you can install the patch easily.  If you have the collector's edition of Moo4 then you already have access to the dos version of Moo2 through steam or gog.

 

Ok, I can go and re-install steam, and then DL the MoO2 that comes with it.  OTOH, I don't want to have to keep steam installed just to play single player, offline games.  Do you know if uninstalling steam will make playing the game impossible?  
Further more, I believe that we must start building a better MoO5 now, for only by doing so can we get tomorrow's game, today!

Spud_Dastardly #16 Posted 07 November 2016 - 01:27 PM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 608
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016

I just did a test and you can make it work with a small bit of effort.  Here's what I did:

  1. Install MoO2 through Steam.
  2. Find the Master of Orion 2 folder (default location is C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Master of Orion 2)
  3. Move this folder somewhere else since you're going to uninstall Steam. 
  4. In the Master of Orion 2 folder, find the "Launch Master of Orion 2" shortcut.  Right click and click Properties.
  5. In the Target field, replace the first section in quotes with the install path "C:\...\Master of Orion 2\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe."  The target window should look something like this depending on your install path: "C:\Users\Your Name\Games\Master of Orion 2\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe" -conf "..\dosboxMOO2.conf" -conf "..\dosboxMOO2_single.conf" -noconsole -c exit
  6. Change the "Start in" box to C:\..\Master of Orion 2\Dosbox using your install path.  

Now that shortcut should open the game without going through Steam.  By the way, in the manual you will read about "command line switches."  These are commands you can type at the end of the Target field of the shortcut.  They are used to enable optional features that have been added, such as /skipintro, which automatically skips the intro cinematics.  


Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


Archont4000 #17 Posted 07 November 2016 - 01:36 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 76
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
In WinXP it should run without any dosbox, no?

Spud_Dastardly #18 Posted 07 November 2016 - 02:00 PM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 608
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016

View PostArchont4000, on 07 November 2016 - 09:36 PM, said:

In WinXP it should run without any dosbox, no?

 

Heh, I forgot XP can actually run dos programs.  As long as he has the 32 bit version, I guess he could in fact run it without dosbox.  I don't think LAN multiplayer would work though.

Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


voidstalker_woe #19 Posted 09 November 2016 - 02:48 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 305
  • Member since:
    12-20-2015

View PostSpud_Dastardly, on 07 November 2016 - 09:27 AM, said:

I just did a test and you can make it work with a small bit of effort.  Here's what I did:

  1. Install MoO2 through Steam.
  2. Find the Master of Orion 2 folder (default location is C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Master of Orion 2)
  3. Move this folder somewhere else since you're going to uninstall Steam. 
  4. In the Master of Orion 2 folder, find the "Launch Master of Orion 2" shortcut.  Right click and click Properties.
  5. In the Target field, replace the first section in quotes with the install path "C:\...\Master of Orion 2\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe."  The target window should look something like this depending on your install path: "C:\Users\Your Name\Games\Master of Orion 2\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe" -conf "..\dosboxMOO2.conf" -conf "..\dosboxMOO2_single.conf" -noconsole -c exit
  6. Change the "Start in" box to C:\..\Master of Orion 2\Dosbox using your install path.  

Now that shortcut should open the game without going through Steam.  By the way, in the manual you will read about "command line switches."  These are commands you can type at the end of the Target field of the shortcut.  They are used to enable optional features that have been added, such as /skipintro, which automatically skips the intro cinematics.  

 

Ok, so I did all this (I forgot that the CTS & steam were on the 7 pro laptop, not the XP), so I now have a desktop icon that starts dosbox.

Now what do I do to play the game?  And if I want to copy over the MoO2 install from the 7 to the XP, will that work or no?

Keep in mind I have never before used dosbox.

:)

 


Further more, I believe that we must start building a better MoO5 now, for only by doing so can we get tomorrow's game, today!

voidstalker_woe #20 Posted 09 November 2016 - 03:03 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 305
  • Member since:
    12-20-2015

Ok, and now I am on the site using the actual win 7 pro laptop that I will be having the (dosbox version) of the game installed on.  So what to do now with the darned dosbox opening screen, lol.;)

 


Further more, I believe that we must start building a better MoO5 now, for only by doing so can we get tomorrow's game, today!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users