Jump to content


Processing turn just sits there and spins for ever


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

therandz #1 Posted 30 May 2016 - 07:39 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

I posted this about the last update as it was happening then. It is still happening and now it even seems worse. Now when it's just sitting there spinning after clicking the "Processing turn" button, if you save, exit out of the game, load that saved game and click the "Processing turn" button again, it just sits there spinning. It make the game totally unplayable. This happened about turn 360.

It was a bran new game started after the latest patch.


Edited by therandz, 30 May 2016 - 07:40 PM.


therandz #2 Posted 25 June 2016 - 07:57 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

Downloaded the new patch yesterday, blew away all previous games, started a new game, am at Turn 172. The Terrans just declared war on me and after clicking off that screen the "Processing Turn" is stuck and spinning on "Unknown Race Turn". I can open the options screen and save and exit the game so it's not a hard lock. I reported this back in May.

This bug has been plaguing me for the last several patches and I see it's even worse now. Game is unplayable at least for me.

I posted this on Steam and had no responses. I've got the latest NVidia GTX 970 driver running Windows 10 64bit.

The lack of responses on Steam makes me think I'm the only one with this show stopping bug?



therandz #3 Posted 27 June 2016 - 07:50 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

If I exit out, reload the saved game it does the same thing. Sits there spinning.

Anyone else getting this or am I alone?



PurdueGuy #4 Posted 27 June 2016 - 08:19 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 15
  • Member since:
    06-05-2016
Yes, got the same thing. Lost 5 hours of gaming to that. I tried reloading from different years on the timeline as well - that didn't work either. Game would load up but still show the 'Processing Turn'. Had to create a new game.

law086 #5 Posted 28 June 2016 - 01:08 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 11
  • Member since:
    02-29-2016
How long are you guys waiting until you assume it's hanging?  I'm at the tail end of a game now, and I have a good two minute wait between turns.

GeneralDirection #6 Posted 28 June 2016 - 10:05 PM

    WG Staff

  • Administrator
  • 313
  • Member since:
    08-22-2011
I'm going to direct our product specialist to this thread so he can help you guys trouble shoot and collect any info necessary to send to the development team. This bug is not easy to track down so as many save games as you have that are affected by it would be helpful.

Raizei #7 Posted 28 June 2016 - 10:54 PM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

Hello folks!

 

Before I can escalate this issue to the development team, I would like for those affected to perform some general troubleshooting to see if it may resolve the issue.

 

The first troubleshooting step is to try repairing the game client through your respective digital distribution platform.

 

For Steam users:

 

1. Find Master of Orion in your game library, right-click the name to bring up a sub-menu and select “Properties”

2. In the menu that appears, go the Local Files tab and then select “Verify Integrity of Game Cache”

 

For GoG users:

 

1. Find and select Master of Orion in your game library
2. Click the "More" option,  hover over "Manage installation" and select “Verify/Repair.”

 

Please allow this process to complete without other system-intensive programs running. Once it has completed please try running the game client.

 

If repairing the game client fails the address the issue, the last troubleshooting step is to perform a complete reinstall of the game client.

 

Before uninstalling the game client, make a copy of your save files in a separate folder outside of the Master of Orion folder in the "Documents" folder location or else it may be deleted in the process!

 

To uninstall the game client through Steam:

Find Master of Orion in your game library > right-click the name > select "Delete Local Content"...

 

To uninstall the game client through GoG:

Find and select Master of Orion in your game library > click the "More" option > hover over "Manage installation" > select "Uninstall"

*When prompted, check the box to remove your save games and user data to ensure removal of all files associated with Master of Orion.

 

After reinstalling the game client, move your save files back to the Master of Orion folder and then see if you can progress.

 

If the troubleshooting steps did not resolve the issue, please reply back to this thread so that I can collect some information from you to create the report to the development team.

 



therandz #8 Posted 29 June 2016 - 02:25 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

Man, just spent 30 minutes trying to log back in here. I know I was using the right email/password because after copying/pasting the password 20 times it finally worked.

Anyway, I did what you asked. Verified/Repaired and all was OK, no problems. I then de-installed Moo4 through Steam. Then I reinstalled it and tried loading the game that was stuck Processing Turn. It did the same thing! Stuck for three minutes Processing Turn when I finally hit the Escape key and ended it. Processing Turn usually only takes about 10 seconds.


Edited by therandz, 29 June 2016 - 02:25 AM.


therandz #9 Posted 29 June 2016 - 02:42 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016
Would it not help for you to have my saved game? Looks like you guys could use it debugging? Just let me know. It's an email link away.

Raizei #10 Posted 29 June 2016 - 03:21 AM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View Posttherandz, on 29 June 2016 - 02:25 AM, said:

Man, just spent 30 minutes trying to log back in here. I know I was using the right email/password because after copying/pasting the password 20 times it finally worked.

Anyway, I did what you asked. Verified/Repaired and all was OK, no problems. I then de-installed Moo4 through Steam. Then I reinstalled it and tried loading the game that was stuck Processing Turn. It did the same thing! Stuck for three minutes Processing Turn when I finally hit the Escape key and ended it. Processing Turn usually only takes about 10 seconds.

 

View Posttherandz, on 29 June 2016 - 02:42 AM, said:

Would it not help for you to have my saved game? Looks like you guys could use it debugging? Just let me know. It's an email link away.

 

Thank you for the update! I'm sorry to hear that the issue still persists.

 

We will definitely appreciate it if you could send us your save game file as well as a DxDiag Report and a output log file from the game client folder.

 

You can submit your information to us by using this link:

https://na.wargaming.../tickets/create


Please put this thread's title as the ticket title so we can ensure we receive your data.



therandz #11 Posted 29 June 2016 - 05:49 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

The saved game file is 23,753KB zipped. Your link/site won't let me attach one that big. 10M B is the max.

There's a .data file which is 63,594KB unzipped and a .save file which is 627KB unzipped. Options?


Edited by therandz, 29 June 2016 - 05:51 PM.


Psy55 #12 Posted 04 July 2016 - 03:39 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 2
  • Member since:
    07-04-2016

I have the same problem and it seems to be happening even to my older saved games now after the new patch was installed but i can definitely confirm that it happens to Psilon when playing Cluster galaxy around turn 300-400.

 

I just logged a ticket so let's see what happens. I'm kinda sad as everything was fine when i played 6 other games using other races previously. I'll try a 3rd time using Psilon in a non Cluster galaxy and see if i can actually finish a game without this glitch happening.  



therandz #13 Posted 04 July 2016 - 06:42 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

Wow, sorry to hear you're having it too. You bring up an interesting point that I never really considered. I enjoy the Psilons so much I have yet to play another race. I've had this problem about after the first patch and I've always played Psilons because I have hardly ever been able to finish a game.

I can't say what galaxy type (Cluster etc) I chose on this last one or which types it's happened to me on.

I'll try another race and see if it happens with them.


Edited by therandz, 04 July 2016 - 06:47 PM.


Psy55 #14 Posted 08 July 2016 - 04:41 AM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 2
  • Member since:
    07-04-2016
I tried the other races and so far so good. I think this problem only happens to Psilons. Anybody else can confirm getting this glitch when playing other races?

therandz #15 Posted 09 July 2016 - 09:36 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016
I think you may have something. I'm at move 350 playing the Terrans. So far so good, no problems. The Processing Turn issue ONLY happened to me playing the Psilons and it happened any where from turn 172 to turn 654. I'll see what happens.

Erymon #16 Posted 12 July 2016 - 09:19 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 11
  • Member since:
    07-02-2016
Happened to me last night around turn 325 with custom race, Meklar skin. Also running a fairly high end machine, so it certainly seems to be a software side issue, not a harware issue.

Art_B #17 Posted 13 July 2016 - 09:25 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 6
  • Member since:
    07-05-2016

Happened to me me just now with Mrrshan.



9hammonds #18 Posted 02 April 2017 - 02:02 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 1
  • Member since:
    04-02-2017

I've started two games, Human and Elerian, both end in processing... I've reinstalled, but it provided no resolution.

 

Hate to give up the game, but there are a lot of other games out there that I don't have to get frustrated to play.  

 

Please fix this!


Edited by 9hammonds, 02 April 2017 - 02:03 PM.


Spud_Dastardly #19 Posted 02 April 2017 - 05:07 PM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 655
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016
The devs don't respond on these forums anymore. There is a stability patch coming though, and with any luck it will fix your issue.

Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


Partythenwork #20 Posted 02 April 2017 - 08:24 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 149
  • Member since:
    04-30-2016

View Post9hammonds, on 02 April 2017 - 02:02 PM, said:

I've started two games, Human and Elerian, both end in processing... I've reinstalled, but it provided no resolution.

 

Hate to give up the game, but there are a lot of other games out there that I don't have to get frustrated to play.  

 

Please fix this!

 

are you freezing up on a mod or the base game?  mods do freeze up especially if you are pushing the boundaries of something in the game




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users