Jump to content


Two Big Mac Problems...


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

SandWyrm #1 Posted 27 June 2016 - 03:46 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 6
  • Member since:
    06-27-2011

Ok, here are two basic program-functionality problems that really get under my skin in OSX (El Capitan):

 

1) Unlike all of my other games, there is no way to Command-Tab or Ctrl-ArrowKey out of the game to switch to another running program (and back again). So if I'm doing anything else (such as managing a 3D Print), I have to completely quit MoO, do what I need to do, and then restart the game. There is no reason I shouldn't be able to switch out of MoO while it's running, and back again.

 

2) The program crashes quite a bit, which I can understand (because Beta). But every time it crashes it leaves a "Master of Orion" process running. If the game crashes 3 times, then I'll have three separate pieces of the game running (using half of one processor each), which I have to hunt down in the Activity Manager and manually force to quit. When I don't catch these, my machine gets very sluggish. If my iMac wasn't high-spec, this would be even more noticeable, and I'm sure that less tech-saavy users would wonder why their machine is suddenly crawling with the fans running at full blast.

 

Can you PLEASE have MoO's startup process check for these "stumps" and force them to quit before starting up another instance of the game?



SpaceGOG #2 Posted 28 June 2016 - 01:35 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 56
  • Member since:
    06-20-2016

Hum, could be a system problem with yours.

I am able to Windows Key + D and Alt+Tab out of the game.

 

I was quite surprised how well the game runs on my computer albeit with low graphics selected. I am running a 1-gh quad-core with 4gb of ram and have played three games to several hundred turns with only a couple crashes and two softlocks total. That's fine for me, I don't care about fancy graphics if the game play is good. Also if you select continue instead of load a saved game the game will load the auto save for your last turn which does not show up in the load folder.



fourteenfour #3 Posted 28 June 2016 - 09:10 PM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 556
  • Member since:
    01-09-2016
OS X cannot get out of game full screen however you can swap the game to windowed mode temporarily to access desktop but do note that it doesn't really do full screen properly if the dock is always present. OS X version also cannot move multiple colonist and yeah, crashes a lot on exit leaving an entry you have to kill in activity monitor
Wargaming Labs, taking the money and running. Abandons MOO CTS after their contract development staff could not deliver without ever one word to players.

ElPozoleOlmeca #4 Posted 28 June 2016 - 09:29 PM

    Player Experience Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 598
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

View Postfourteenfour, on 28 June 2016 - 01:10 PM, said:

OS X cannot get out of game full screen however you can swap the game to windowed mode temporarily to access desktop but do note that it doesn't really do full screen properly if the dock is always present. OS X version also cannot move multiple colonist and yeah, crashes a lot on exit leaving an entry you have to kill in activity monitor

 

We will make a note on this and see if it's a known issue or something new. 

fourteenfour #5 Posted 28 June 2016 - 10:46 PM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 556
  • Member since:
    01-09-2016

View PostElPozoleOlmeca, on 28 June 2016 - 04:29 PM, said:

 

We will make a note on this and see if it's a known issue or something new. 

 

no offense but both the crashing and inability of tabbing out have been reported before. I have even sent in crash logs only to be given back some of the dumbest suggestions ever. 

 

the not being able to move multiple colonists was reported by a few on steam

 

after reading known issues lists, when you do post them which is too infrequently, it rarely seems to reflect what is posted by many on this site or steam


Wargaming Labs, taking the money and running. Abandons MOO CTS after their contract development staff could not deliver without ever one word to players.

temrdm #6 Posted 29 June 2016 - 04:45 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 1
  • Member since:
    06-29-2016

I have regular crash after several visits to the planet. Video proof:

https://dl.dropbox.com/s/w5duk2bq8sl5ab5/screencast_2016-06-29_23-33-11.mp4?dl=0

https://dl.dropbox.c...-35-37.mp4?dl=0

 

Game version: 45.3.1.2.2491BOSXG

Game lang: Russian

System info:

OSX El Capitan 10.11.5

Model Name:    MacBook Pro

Model Identifier:    MacBookPro9,2

Processor Name:    Intel Core i5

Processor Speed:    2,5 GHz

Memory:    8 GB

 



thecpat #7 Posted 06 July 2016 - 11:32 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 1
  • Member since:
    07-06-2016

I'm also having issues with full screen vs windowed on Mac. I run 3 monitors (2 24" 1920x1200px) and attempting to run in non full screen results in mouse mapping issues. The locations don't seem to scale to the window, which is locked top left of my main screen. Makes the game almost unplayable if I want/need to do more than one thing at a time.... I hope I can find time as the hour or so I have spent so far looks extremely promising :) Huge fan of MOO2.. still have a copy that I used to play until I got rid of my last windows PC, last year. 

 

iMac 27" late 2013

Processor 3.4 GHz i5

24 GB 1333MHz DDR3

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 775M 2048 MB



icewarp #8 Posted 08 January 2017 - 05:40 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 1
  • Member since:
    03-16-2013
Why can't we cmd+tab in the "El Captain" MacOSX on this game?

cbedgar #9 Posted 04 May 2017 - 04:28 AM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 2
  • Member since:
    05-04-2017
Is there any resolution or work around to the mac os can't cmd tab issue?

cbedgar #10 Posted 04 May 2017 - 01:05 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 2
  • Member since:
    05-04-2017
So, I seems the answer to my question is yes.  To switch applications on a Mac, putting MOO in the background, one just needs to cmd-F to toggle fullscreen mode and then cmd tab works find.  Issues with cmd-F crashing MOO seem resolve in the production version.  YMMV.  I am running what seems to be version 2.4.0.6 (42.8).  




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users