Jump to content


Known Issues - July 22, 2016

Known Issue 46.4 Bugs

  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

SnugglyHugs #61 Posted 08 September 2016 - 01:16 AM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 2
  • Member since:
    09-06-2016

View PostRaizei, on 07 September 2016 - 01:55 AM, said:

 

The issue you are encountering is most likely related to race specific perks. The 2 different perks are Uncreative and Creative.

 

If you are playing a race with the Uncreative perk (ex: Sakkra), when you research new technology with choices, you will obtain one of the choices randomly.

 

The Creative perk on the other hand will not allow you to choose since you will obtain all upgrade choices. The Psilon has this perk available to them.

 

Hope this helps!

 

Indeed it does! Thank you for informing me. I was playing Sakkraaaaaaa... lizard men and didn't know why I couldn't select specific techs. Now I know. Thanks again!



Spud_Dastardly #62 Posted 08 September 2016 - 03:17 AM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 655
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016
When will we get an updated Known Issues list?  Maybe after the next patch?  I have noted some bugs but have been waiting for an updated list to document and report them because I'm not sure what you are already aware of.

Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


masterrooot1983 #63 Posted 08 September 2016 - 08:52 PM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 2
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015
What about impossibility to play in multiplayer game between steam and gog players?

Raizei #64 Posted 09 September 2016 - 12:25 AM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View PostSpud_Dastardly, on 08 September 2016 - 03:17 AM, said:

When will we get an updated Known Issues list?  Maybe after the next patch?  I have noted some bugs but have been waiting for an updated list to document and report them because I'm not sure what you are already aware of.

 

We are currently developing an improved layout and process of how we will be presenting the information; which is why a list hasn't been produced at this time. We should be posting one soon!

Summon3r #65 Posted 09 September 2016 - 03:15 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 211
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

View PostRaizei, on 07 September 2016 - 12:24 AM, said:

 

 

Hello! I want to verify the issue with the health bars not showing up in combat. In the Interface tab, there is a section for "Show Health Bar" where you can modify the settings to enable this feature to appear. With default settings, this option is set as "Only Selected". Are you unable to see the health bars with the different settings?

 

in the interface tab under health bars i have it set to "ON" they show up only once in a blue moon and when i say that like one in 100 battles maybe? if that



Raizei #66 Posted 10 September 2016 - 12:28 AM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View Postmasterrooot1983, on 08 September 2016 - 08:52 PM, said:

What about impossibility to play in multiplayer game between steam and gog players?

 

At this time, players who are on different digital distribution platforms (Steam/GoG) are unable to play multiplayer games with each other. Unfortunately I do not have any additional information at the moment but if find out some more, I'll share the information I receive.

Raizei #67 Posted 10 September 2016 - 12:56 AM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View PostSummon3r, on 09 September 2016 - 03:15 PM, said:

 

in the interface tab under health bars i have it set to "ON" they show up only once in a blue moon and when i say that like one in 100 battles maybe? if that

 

Thank you for following up! With the information I received recently from Vahouth (thanks again!!), I have created a bug report to the development team regarding the issue and they have already created a fix for the issue which should be implemented soon!

 

 



Spud_Dastardly #68 Posted 10 September 2016 - 05:18 AM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 655
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016

View PostRaizei, on 09 September 2016 - 12:25 AM, said:

 

We are currently developing an improved layout and process of how we will be presenting the information; which is why a list hasn't been produced at this time. We should be posting one soon!

 

I guess since you're checking here regularly anyway, I'll post a list with some quick notes on the bugs and a couple typos I've seen.  

  • Sometimes after moving a colony ship or space factory to a planet or star lane entrance respectively, the colonize or build option respectively is greyed out, and you have to deselect and reselect the ship in order to be able to select the option.
  • Shortest path algorithm for ship travel doesn't always take wormholes into account.  This is especially true if a ship is not near the wormhole (~10 turns away from the wormhole) even though diverting to the worm hole might be 10 turns shorter than taking the direct route.
  • GNN sometimes reports discovery of the same monster multiple times.
  • Victory chances algorithm on battles against an amoeba doesn't take into account the smaller amoebae that the larger one splits into.  You can lose badly even with "excellent" victory chances depending on your fleet.
  • Typos in the Ultraplanar Dimorphic Transponder description.  It should say "its" instead of "it's", and it should say "with" instead of "whit"
  • Sort of a typo: The plasma rifle description doesn't list the % amount that it boosts ground combat by.
  • When a new spy is recruited and sent to a destination, the new spy recruited notification changes from "Spy [name] recruited at [origin]" to "Spy [name] recruited at [destination]."
  • When a planet's build queue is full and the planet's screen is opened for the first time on a turn, the icon for queuing buildings shows as the "+" for adding new buildings instead of the switching out symbol.
  • Orbital defenses don't appear to be repairing after combat.  Maybe they're just repairing really slowly, not sure.
  • Newly invaded planets are usually starving.  Despite being set on "Balanced," when invaded they don't automatically allocate enough population to food in order to feed the planet.  You have to select the focus and select "Balanced" again in order for them to properly re-allocate.
  • Zooming out with the scroll wheel during tactical combat causes the sound effects to momentarily stop, and zooming in causes a burst of several sounds at once.
  • If you invade a planet with an insufficient amount of troops so that you lose the combat, you can send more troops, but on the second time you invade consecutively, the "troop transports" counter starts to drop during the combat irrespective of the number of transports you send.  E.g., I send 1 transports, I lose.  Immediately on the same screen, I send another transport and hit "deploy" and during the combat, my number of troop transports decreases by 2 or 3  with the same sound effect as if an enemy troop were lost.  After returning to the galaxy screen, you will still be left with the correct number of troop transports.
  • On the new game screen select the Silicoids and wait a few seconds for the animation to play out.  The keystone's right arm will drift slightly left and right, and the bright star in the background will turn off and on repeatedly despite the arm only barely moving and barely covering the edge of the star.  It looks very unnatural.  
  • I had a situation where tactical combat would freeze in the middle of combat.  It was difficult to reproduce consistently, but it did keep happening sporadically.  I did determine that it happened only after I had given several orders in combat and a few ships are destroyed, not when I just gave a couple or none at all.  You can still abandon the battle, but doing so makes the game think the battle never happened, and both fleets stay intact.  Re-entering the battle immediately or on the next turn causes the game to freeze entirely.  
  • EDIT: I forgot one.  When you click on a tech higher in the tree than your current available research, it queues up multiple techs to get to the higher one, but often it will research out of order.  The easiest way to see this is to just click on evolving technologies at the end of the tree so it queues all the tech, and watch carefully the order in which it researches them.  It should always do the topmost tech in the leftmost bracket, but it doesn't.

 


Edited by Spud_Dastardly, 12 September 2016 - 01:31 AM.

Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


Archont4000 #69 Posted 10 September 2016 - 08:05 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 76
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
I have found that during tactical battle freeze you can click retreat and game suddenly starts working, ships retreat and results are calculated based on the battle that actually happened

Summon3r #70 Posted 12 September 2016 - 02:22 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 211
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

Raizei is there a fix coming for this asinine tactical combat freeze that is happening ALL THE TIME!! 

 

i am currently on a medium galaxy on hard less the 100 ships per battle and i CANNOT EVEN PLAY, every single tactical battle i try freezes even ones with less then 50 ships.

 

completely broken game not playable



Raizei #71 Posted 12 September 2016 - 11:23 PM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View PostSpud_Dastardly, on 10 September 2016 - 05:18 AM, said:

 

I guess since you're checking here regularly anyway, I'll post a list with some quick notes on the bugs and a couple typos I've seen.  

  • Sometimes after moving a colony ship or space factory to a planet or star lane entrance respectively, the colonize or build option respectively is greyed out, and you have to deselect and reselect the ship in order to be able to select the option.
  • Shortest path algorithm for ship travel doesn't always take wormholes into account.  This is especially true if a ship is not near the wormhole (~10 turns away from the wormhole) even though diverting to the worm hole might be 10 turns shorter than taking the direct route.
  • GNN sometimes reports discovery of the same monster multiple times.
  • Victory chances algorithm on battles against an amoeba doesn't take into account the smaller amoebae that the larger one splits into.  You can lose badly even with "excellent" victory chances depending on your fleet.
  • Typos in the Ultraplanar Dimorphic Transponder description.  It should say "its" instead of "it's", and it should say "with" instead of "whit"
  • Sort of a typo: The plasma rifle description doesn't list the % amount that it boosts ground combat by.
  • When a new spy is recruited and sent to a destination, the new spy recruited notification changes from "Spy [name] recruited at [origin]" to "Spy [name] recruited at [destination]."
  • When a planet's build queue is full and the planet's screen is opened for the first time on a turn, the icon for queuing buildings shows as the "+" for adding new buildings instead of the switching out symbol.
  • Orbital defenses don't appear to be repairing after combat.  Maybe they're just repairing really slowly, not sure.
  • Newly invaded planets are usually starving.  Despite being set on "Balanced," when invaded they don't automatically allocate enough population to food in order to feed the planet.  You have to select the focus and select "Balanced" again in order for them to properly re-allocate.
  • Zooming out with the scroll wheel during tactical combat causes the sound effects to momentarily stop, and zooming in causes a burst of several sounds at once.
  • If you invade a planet with an insufficient amount of troops so that you lose the combat, you can send more troops, but on the second time you invade consecutively, the "troop transports" counter starts to drop during the combat irrespective of the number of transports you send.  E.g., I send 1 transports, I lose.  Immediately on the same screen, I send another transport and hit "deploy" and during the combat, my number of troop transports decreases by 2 or 3  with the same sound effect as if an enemy troop were lost.  After returning to the galaxy screen, you will still be left with the correct number of troop transports.
  • On the new game screen select the Silicoids and wait a few seconds for the animation to play out.  The keystone's right arm will drift slightly left and right, and the bright star in the background will turn off and on repeatedly despite the arm only barely moving and barely covering the edge of the star.  It looks very unnatural.  
  • I had a situation where tactical combat would freeze in the middle of combat.  It was difficult to reproduce consistently, but it did keep happening sporadically.  I did determine that it happened only after I had given several orders in combat and a few ships are destroyed, not when I just gave a couple or none at all.  You can still abandon the battle, but doing so makes the game think the battle never happened, and both fleets stay intact.  Re-entering the battle immediately or on the next turn causes the game to freeze entirely.  
  • EDIT: I forgot one.  When you click on a tech higher in the tree than your current available research, it queues up multiple techs to get to the higher one, but often it will research out of order.  The easiest way to see this is to just click on evolving technologies at the end of the tree so it queues all the tech, and watch carefully the order in which it researches them.  It should always do the topmost tech in the leftmost bracket, but it doesn't.

 

 

This is quite the list! It will take me some time to get through the list to see if it is already known or need to be reported.

I may request some save files from you for some of the gameplay related issues - such as the starving population on a newly invaded colony and the freezing of tactical battle to name a couple

 

 



Raizei #72 Posted 13 September 2016 - 12:49 AM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View PostSummon3r, on 12 September 2016 - 02:22 AM, said:

Raizei is there a fix coming for this asinine tactical combat freeze that is happening ALL THE TIME!! 

 

i am currently on a medium galaxy on hard less the 100 ships per battle and i CANNOT EVEN PLAY, every single tactical battle i try freezes even ones with less then 50 ships.

 

completely broken game not playable

 

Hey Summon3r,

 

I have a fleet of about 125 ships of different classes and I haven't encountered a freeze yet in any of my tactical battles (with other races and even with the Orion Guardian). The FPS does tend to drop a bit when there are missiles and lasers firing everywhere during the battle but no freezing on my end.

 

I've looked up the issue and this is something they have been working on fixing. The fix may be included in an upcoming patch.

 

For the time being, have you tried lowering the graphic settings to see if it may alleviate the issue?



Spud_Dastardly #73 Posted 13 September 2016 - 01:24 AM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 655
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016

View PostRaizei, on 12 September 2016 - 11:23 PM, said:

 

This is quite the list! It will take me some time to get through the list to see if it is already known or need to be reported.

I may request some save files from you for some of the gameplay related issues - such as the starving population on a newly invaded colony and the freezing of tactical battle to name a couple

 

Okay, just let me know what you need.  The starving population on newly invaded colony one should be very easy to reproduce, as it happens on practically every planet I invade.


Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


Summon3r #74 Posted 13 September 2016 - 02:35 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 211
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

View PostRaizei, on 13 September 2016 - 12:49 AM, said:

 

Hey Summon3r,

 

I have a fleet of about 125 ships of different classes and I haven't encountered a freeze yet in any of my tactical battles (with other races and even with the Orion Guardian). The FPS does tend to drop a bit when there are missiles and lasers firing everywhere during the battle but no freezing on my end.

 

I've looked up the issue and this is something they have been working on fixing. The fix may be included in an upcoming patch.

 

For the time being, have you tried lowering the graphic settings to see if it may alleviate the issue?

 

thx for the reply, im running an I7-3930k oc'd 4ghz 32g RAM and a gtx660ti so there should be absolutely no reason to turn down grfx i wouldnt think? i play world of warships 100% maxed out. 

 

i have been in touch with support and gone back and forth with them we will see if things are better. looking forward to next patch and glad this is at least being acknowledged as an issue.



PLA_123 #75 Posted 13 September 2016 - 02:56 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 51
  • Member since:
    09-08-2016

View PostSpud_Dastardly, on 13 September 2016 - 11:24 AM, said:

Okay, just let me know what you need.  The starving population on newly invaded colony one should be very easy to reproduce, as it happens on practically every planet I invade.

 

I have the exact same issue.

 

 

 


 

This is due to all production (Food, Science, Production) are halved when a planet is first annexed. Not sure if this the initial game design philosophy? The to-be-assimilated colonist would rather starve to death than to produce just enough food to survive.

 



Vahouth #76 Posted 13 September 2016 - 09:59 AM

    Vice Admiral

  • Players
  • 1,288
  • Member since:
    10-03-2015

When I invade fully populated colonies, they do tend to starve no matter how many of them I place on food production.

Yes, they might lose one pop until the penalties start to wear off, but that's just it. No more reprecussions.

And to be honest, I find that more immersive because this is what usually happens when people get invaded. They starve. Not only because they don't grow enough food to sustain themselves, but also because there is a lot of scorched earth and production facilities and the invader usually confiscates a big chunk of goods as well.


Edited by Vahouth, 13 September 2016 - 10:01 AM.


Spud_Dastardly #77 Posted 13 September 2016 - 01:54 PM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 655
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016

View PostPLA_123, on 13 September 2016 - 02:56 AM, said:

 

I have the exact same issue.

 

This is due to all production (Food, Science, Production) are halved when a planet is first annexed. Not sure if this the initial game design philosophy? The to-be-assimilated colonist would rather starve to death than to produce just enough food to survive.

 

 

View PostVahouth, on 13 September 2016 - 09:59 AM, said:

When I invade fully populated colonies, they do tend to starve no matter how many of them I place on food production.

Yes, they might lose one pop until the penalties start to wear off, but that's just it. No more reprecussions.

And to be honest, I find that more immersive because this is what usually happens when people get invaded. They starve. Not only because they don't grow enough food to sustain themselves, but also because there is a lot of scorched earth and production facilities and the invader usually confiscates a big chunk of goods as well.

Just to be clear, with regard to the bug I mentioned I wasn't talking about the situation where enslaved colonists can't produce enough food to feed the planet even if all food slots are filled.  That's fine, and I agree with Vahouth that it's a good mechanic.  What I'm talking about is, say you invade a planet with 10 population, and after you have invaded, you check the planet.  Maybe 2 out of 5 food slots are being used, the rest of the population are spread between research and production, and the colony focus is listed as "balanced."  In this situation, the population are not balanced properly, and the colony is needlessly starving.  Here is a screenshot of what this looks like.

Spoiler

I then have to select "balanced" again from the colony focus for it to distribute the population properly like this:

Spoiler

By the way, sometimes, a captured colony won't have a colony focus at all, and the focus will just be blank like this:

Spoiler

 


Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


Vahouth #78 Posted 13 September 2016 - 04:34 PM

    Vice Admiral

  • Players
  • 1,288
  • Member since:
    10-03-2015

From what I gather by looking at your pictures:

  1. The first picture is the AI having chosen a Balanced focus prior to the invasion (no penalties).
  2. The second picture is you resetting the Balanced focus to compensate with the new yields.
  3. The third picture is the AI not chosing any focus but managing the colony manually.

Edited by Vahouth, 14 September 2016 - 04:52 AM.


Raizei #79 Posted 14 September 2016 - 01:35 AM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View PostSpud_Dastardly, on 13 September 2016 - 01:24 AM, said:

Okay, just let me know what you need.  The starving population on newly invaded colony one should be very easy to reproduce, as it happens on practically every planet I invade.

 

Out of the list you've sent, here are the ones I need help with as I cannot verify them with the current sessions I am playing and the amount of time I have available to look into these issues:

 

  • Sometimes after moving a colony ship or space factory to a planet or star lane entrance respectively, the colonize or build option respectively is greyed out, and you have to deselect and reselect the ship in order to be able to select the option.
  • GNN sometimes reports discovery of the same monster multiple times. (Is it the fact that it is showing the picture of the squid monster and not the image of what the actual monster is being reported?)
  • Orbital defenses don't appear to be repairing after combat.
  • If you invade a planet with an insufficient amount of troops so that you lose the combat, you can send more troops, but on the second time you invade consecutively, the "troop transports" counter starts to drop during the combat irrespective of the number of transports you send.  E.g., I send 1 transports, I lose.  Immediately on the same screen, I send another transport and hit "deploy" and during the combat, my number of troop transports decreases by 2 or 3  with the same sound effect as if an enemy troop were lost.  After returning to the galaxy screen, you will still be left with the correct number of troop transports.
  • I had a situation where tactical combat would freeze in the middle of combat.  It was difficult to reproduce consistently, but it did keep happening sporadically.  I did determine that it happened only after I had given several orders in combat and a few ships are destroyed, not when I just gave a couple or none at all.  You can still abandon the battle, but doing so makes the game think the battle never happened, and both fleets stay intact.  Re-entering the battle immediately or on the next turn causes the game to freeze entirely.  

 

The other ones are in the process of being reported or have been reported!

I recommend that you use the in-game bug reporting feature to report any text issues you come across moving forward as that is another place you can submit them quickly!



Raizei #80 Posted 14 September 2016 - 01:41 AM

    CS Specialist

  • Administrator
  • 59
  • Member since:
    06-11-2012

View PostVahouth, on 13 September 2016 - 04:34 PM, said:

From what I gather by looking at your pictures:

  1. The first picture is the AI having a chosen a Balanced focus prior to the invasion (no penalties).
  2. The second picture is you resetting the Balanced focus to compensate with the new yields.
  3. The third picture is the AI not chosing any focus but managing the colony manually.

 

These reasons seem very plausible as to why the population of a newly conquered planet would be in such a state. I will try to confirm if it is a bug or not





Also tagged with Known Issue, 46.4, Bugs

3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users