Jump to content


volcanic planets


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

TheBishop #1 Posted 29 December 2016 - 02:18 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 78
  • Member since:
    05-24-2011
can i terraform volcanic planets?

Exoclyps #2 Posted 29 December 2016 - 02:48 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 351
  • Member since:
    11-04-2016
Without using a mod, nope.

TheBishop #3 Posted 29 December 2016 - 03:05 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 78
  • Member since:
    05-24-2011
ah ha!!  so here i find a need for a mod.  i will go look for one.  if you got a recommendation, by all means, let me know.

Exoclyps #4 Posted 29 December 2016 - 03:12 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 351
  • Member since:
    11-04-2016
The 5X Mod I recommended in the other thread contains a tech that lets you terraform Volcanic planets.

TheBishop #5 Posted 29 December 2016 - 03:58 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 78
  • Member since:
    05-24-2011
ok

DarthJake013 #6 Posted 27 April 2017 - 01:48 AM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 1
  • Member since:
    02-28-2016

Do we know if this is something that is planned to be fixed?  When I mouse over a volcanic planet the food resource states that I need terraforming to access, but obviously if you need a mod to terraform the planet then it's not working as it should be.

 

Thanks.



Partythenwork #7 Posted 27 April 2017 - 02:09 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 147
  • Member since:
    04-30-2016

i wrote up a mod where you can terraform planets using your space factories. 

 

and of course you can terraform volcanic planets using my mod


Edited by Partythenwork, 27 April 2017 - 02:10 AM.


Spud_Dastardly #8 Posted 27 April 2017 - 02:58 AM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 632
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016
By the way, it's worth mentioning for the modders out there that with the new patch, you can customize the terraforming process in PlanetBiomeTypes, so it's now possible to create a mod that allows terraforming of volcanic planets without a separate technology. I kind of like the volcanic cooling tech being separate in 5X though, so I think I'll keep that as is.

Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 


Partythenwork #9 Posted 27 April 2017 - 03:46 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 147
  • Member since:
    04-30-2016

View PostSpud_Dastardly, on 27 April 2017 - 02:58 AM, said:

By the way, it's worth mentioning for the modders out there that with the new patch, you can customize the terraforming process in PlanetBiomeTypes, so it's now possible to create a mod that allows terraforming of volcanic planets without a separate technology. I kind of like the volcanic cooling tech being separate in 5X though, so I think I'll keep that as is.

 

i noticed that barren planets now degrade into toxic planets?

 

if so what happens if you have like a toxic processor will you have a loop?

 

          - key: biome_barren
            name: PLANET_BIOME_TYPE_BARREN
            classType: PLANET_BIOME_CLASS_E
            isColonizable: true
            cinematic: ContentPrefabs/Cinematics/ColonizationCinematic_barren.prefab
            biomeSoilFactor: 0.5
            viableFarmingFactor: 0.32
            viableIndustryFactor: 0.55
            innerOrbitTerraformBiome: biome_desert
            outerOrbitTerraformBiome: biome_tundra
            innerOrbitDowngradeBiome: biome_toxic
            outerOrbitDowngradeBiome: biome_toxic
            color: 0xc67f32
            surfaceMaterial:
                - Materials/PlanetBiomes/Planet_Barren_A
            haloMaterial:
                - Materials/PlanetHalos/NewPlanet_halo_barren
            systemSurfMaterial:
                - Materials/PlanetBiomes/NewPlanet_galaxy_Barren
            pollutionAbsorption: 60
            icon : assets/empire_management/planet_barren.png
            banner : assets/empire_management/banner_planet_barren.png



Spud_Dastardly #10 Posted 27 April 2017 - 04:15 PM

    Rear Admiral

  • Players
  • 632
  • Member since:
    07-15-2016
Barrens degraded to toxic before; it just wasn't shown in the yaml. Actually I never tested what happens if a barren with a toxic processor degrades. One of us should test that sometime.

Get 5X - The Ultimate Balance Mod on Steam or on Nexus Mods!

 





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users