Jump to content


MOO2 - the ICE Mod

MOO2

  • Please log in to reply
82 replies to this topic

Summon3r #21 Posted 16 September 2015 - 06:04 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 208
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

View PostLone_War, on 16 September 2015 - 01:56 AM, said:

Killing AI fleets is all about Initiative and fully upgraded Phasors =)

 

Just make sure you go before your opponents do, and then use your Armor Piercing, Shield Piercing Phasors to blow away their targets fleets...

 

agreed and to be clear i have no issue melting AI fleets but like what is currently in a game of mine 43 titans 50 doomstars and so on with stellars is just retarded

MOO2MOD #22 Posted 16 September 2015 - 09:49 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015

Block Quote

 43 titans 50 doomstars and so on with stellars

That is quite the fleet !!

What turn are you seeing this? 

 



JamieK81 #23 Posted 16 September 2015 - 10:12 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 177
  • Member since:
    09-05-2015

I tend to never go overboard, i just make a basic amount and since i tend to be always ahead of the AI even on Impossible difficulty, i just build a handful of ships and no more, i mean even having 10 doomstars is overkill in my opinion.

 

The only time i attack with more then 4 ships at a time is when i am facing the Antaran Homeworld, thats when it can be a challenge.



MOO2MOD #24 Posted 16 September 2015 - 10:30 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015

Block Quote

 The only time i attack with more then 4 ships at a time is when i am facing the Antaran Homeworld, thats when it can be a challenge.

you should try the Antaran HW in my mod :)

 

btw, mods are until now always built in the dos version.

the code of dos version is much more analyzed / disected than windows because windows does not play well in multiplayer (too much lag)

and it are the multiplayer guys that put the most effort in getting their game right.

in terms of balance and in terms of bug-fixing.

 

unless someone starts spending a tremendous amount of hours to decypher the win code, the WIN exe will never get as bug-free as the dos version.

having said that, as single players tend to be more casual players, most bugs go unnoticed for them (not saying they have no effect, just they stay unnoticed)

and some modding is definitely possible for the win version.

 

A question then is: what would you like to see changed from classic MOO2?


Edited by MOO2MOD, 16 September 2015 - 10:32 AM.


Summon3r #25 Posted 16 September 2015 - 03:41 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 208
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

View PostMOO2MOD, on 16 September 2015 - 09:49 AM, said:

That is quite the fleet !!

What turn are you seeing this? 

 

 

lmfao just checked the actual numbers as i thought i may be exagerating:

 

Psilon Fleet star date 3553.8

5 dest

12 cruiser

65 battleship

81 titan 

82 doomstar

 

NO BLOODY JOKE lol ... ice mod level hard, large galaxy, 4 races, elerian knocked (despite my best efforts) sakkra and psilon left

 

So how about that stellar converter removal? lol?



MOO2MOD #26 Posted 16 September 2015 - 04:16 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015

ok - you need a hex editor, I recommend a free one on my website in case you don't have one yet.

 

Offset: 1FCFE9

Block: 1FCFE9-1FCFEA

 

Change: 45 00 >>> FF FF

 

And Stellar Converter is out of the game.

 

** disclaimer **

perhaps the removal of Stellar Converter could lead to a stronger a.i. fleet

;)


Edited by MOO2MOD, 16 September 2015 - 04:17 PM.


Summon3r #27 Posted 16 September 2015 - 04:22 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 208
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

View PostMOO2MOD, on 16 September 2015 - 04:16 PM, said:

ok - you need a hex editor, I recommend a free one on my website in case you don't have one yet.

 

Offset: 1FCFE9

Block: 1FCFE9-1FCFEA

 

Change: 45 00 >>> FF FF

 

And Stellar Converter is out of the game.

 

** disclaimer **

perhaps the removal of Stellar Converter could lead to a stronger a.i. fleet

;)

 

awesoem thx buddy, but you literally just spoke in latin to me LOL.. whats your site and is there a literal step by step process? also if i edit it out now will it affect the current game im in?

 

ok got HxD i think, not a clue in the world what to do with it


Edited by Summon3r, 16 September 2015 - 04:49 PM.


MOO2MOD #28 Posted 18 September 2015 - 08:52 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015
Spoiler

Instruction:

Open the exe you want to change in HxD (ICEMOD or ICEMODx.EXE)

Scroll down to the line '001FCFE0'.

That is about 3 quarters down.

In that line change "45 00" to "FF FF"

Simply type over it. Make sure you only change these two fields!

Then save and it is done, Stellar Converter is out of the game.



Summon3r #29 Posted 19 September 2015 - 03:35 AM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 208
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015
ok thx changed them but it seems the stellar is still int eh game i had going will try and see if it will be gone out of  a new game

MOO2MOD #30 Posted 19 September 2015 - 10:01 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015

sure - it is still in the savegame .. you need to start anew!



Summon3r #31 Posted 19 September 2015 - 03:40 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 208
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

View PostMOO2MOD, on 19 September 2015 - 10:01 AM, said:

sure - it is still in the savegame .. you need to start anew!

 

awesome, seriously excited to try this!!

MOO2MOD #32 Posted 19 September 2015 - 07:37 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015

45 00 defines the place of Stellar Converter in the tech tree.

45= 69 in decimal notation and that is the number of the Temporal Physics tech field.

So if you put another number instead of 45, then Stellar Converter would show in the tech tree in the particular tech field that has that number.

 

FF FF signifies "-1" meaning that the relevant technology is not included in the tech tree.

You could put FF FF on all techs and then the game has an empty tech tree (and would crash as a result).


Edited by MOO2MOD, 19 September 2015 - 07:37 PM.


Summon3r #33 Posted 19 September 2015 - 09:49 PM

    Commander

  • Players
  • 208
  • Member since:
    06-26-2015

View PostMOO2MOD, on 19 September 2015 - 07:37 PM, said:

45 00 defines the place of Stellar Converter in the tech tree.

45= 69 in decimal notation and that is the number of the Temporal Physics tech field.

So if you put another number instead of 45, then Stellar Converter would show in the tech tree in the particular tech field that has that number.

 

FF FF signifies "-1" meaning that the relevant technology is not included in the tech tree.

You could put FF FF on all techs and then the game has an empty tech tree (and would crash as a result).

 

my friend you are a bloody genius, stellar converter is officially gonzo!!

MarkusRamikin #34 Posted 22 September 2015 - 09:19 AM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 3
  • Member since:
    09-22-2015

Been playing this mod for a while, and for the most part it's great and deserves much praise.

 

The stronger opponents, the more powerful Guardian and Antarans, the changes to the tech tree, the revamped racial picks, it all revived my interest in the game.

 

The only issue is I liked being able to end the game by attacking Antares if I so pleased; making the player depend on the RNG for the Dimensional Portal is a case of concept-over-gameplay type of mistake. Good thing, as Rocco himself pointed out, there are tools to mod it back into the tech tree...



MOO2MOD #35 Posted 22 September 2015 - 09:41 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015

Hey Markus.

If you mod the Dim Portal back in the game, do you put it in Hyper Dimensional Physics - or you give it as a Guardian tech?


Edited by MOO2MOD, 22 September 2015 - 09:51 AM.


MarkusRamikin #36 Posted 22 September 2015 - 09:58 AM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 3
  • Member since:
    09-22-2015
I personally put it in Hyper Dimensional Physics, a perhaps arbitrary shift one level higher compared to vanilla, simply because I don't want it to compete with Sensors or Disrupters. Although I also thought about creating a new tech field above Temporal Physics just for this, but I don't know if that would mess with offsets for everything else.

MOO2MOD #37 Posted 22 September 2015 - 10:29 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 400
  • Member since:
    06-22-2015

Unfortunately it is not possible to create a new tech field, it is possible to put existing tech fields to other use, as I have done in ice.

Random example: you could put Class III Shield in the old 900 RP tech field, which then has 4 techs.

The empty tech field can than be moved somewhere else.

 

I am considering for next ice version to make dimensional portal the default tech at Orion.



neilkaz #38 Posted 22 September 2015 - 07:01 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 14
  • Member since:
    09-22-2015

View PostMOO2MOD, on 22 September 2015 - 10:29 AM, said:

Unfortunately it is not possible to create a new tech field, it is possible to put existing tech fields to other use, as I have done in ice.

Random example: you could put Class III Shield in the old 900 RP tech field, which then has 4 techs.

The empty tech field can than be moved somewhere else.

 

I am considering for next ice version to make dimensional portal the default tech at Orion.

As someone who thinks that you've done great things with IceX I hope to not see too many changes to the basic game, so I want to see Death Ray remain the default Orion tech. You can get D.P. from a leader or get it the current 30% of the time, or get it from an AI, or just win the game otherwise.

 

Thx .. neilkaz ,,



MarkusRamikin #39 Posted 23 September 2015 - 08:26 AM

    Ensign

  • Players
  • 3
  • Member since:
    09-22-2015

Block Quote

I hope to not see too many changes to the basic game

 

I'd just like to point out that reliable access to Antares was also a part of the basic game. But yeah, I have nothing against Death Ray staying default Orion reward as long as Antares is available (reliably, nonrandomly, to Repulsives as well) somehow.



neilkaz #40 Posted 23 September 2015 - 03:43 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Players
  • 14
  • Member since:
    09-22-2015

View PostMarkusRamikin, on 23 September 2015 - 08:26 AM, said:

 

I'd just like to point out that reliable access to Antares was also a part of the basic game. But yeah, I have nothing against Death Ray staying default Orion reward as long as Antares is available (reliably, nonrandomly, to Repulsives as well) somehow.

 

Markus makes a good point here. LIkely D.P. should be a late tech choice, but of course you have to forgo something else to choose it, as in Vanilla,  unless ur Creative.





Also tagged with MOO2

2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users